Adventures · Encouragement · Writing Life

Hello, World!

Hello and welcome to my blog! I thought I would start this blogging journey with an introduction (because I am super original like that).

My name is D.J. Torres, and in less than a month, I am releasing my first novel (cue the high-pitched squeals of pure joy)! The Nature of Gods is a middle grade fantasy adventure novel, which is geared towards preteens, teens, as well as that inner teen still living within all of us. If you can’t tell, I am super excited about this new chapter in my life (Teehee, see what I did there? Book humor).

Anyways, I want to use this blog to talk about my escapades in this foreign world of publishing, but, also, I want to chat about life. Life is definitely a journey, and let’s face it, it’s a much more enjoyable and entertaining journey when you make friends along the way. I would love to connect and encourage others to follow their dreams. Want to be a doctor? YES! I believe that you can totally destroy that MCAT exam with your knowledge. Want to write hard-hitting journalism pieces that will be responsible for dismantling the antiquated systems in place? YES! Channel your inner Diane Sawyer and slay that truth!

Sadly, I feel like more and more people chose to stomp on dreams instead of offering a heaping dose of encouragement. Well, that’s definitely not the case here. Encouragement is my middle name. Sure, following your dreams is scary, but it’s less scary when someone has your back and believes in you. So let’s do that for each other!

Besides encouragement, here are some examples of delightful things you might hear from me on this blog.

I can’t stop binge watching Gilmore Girls. Season 1 of the fast-talking duo turns into Season 2, which turns into Season 3, and then I meet Logan (swoon). Soon I find myself on the last episode of the Revival, hearing those last four words. Then I get so sad. Stars Hollow … where did you go? Kirk? Lane? Mom? Oops, sorry, I meant Emily. So I do the next logical thing and start all over again on Season 1 to get my Stars Hollow fix. It’s a vicious cycle … one I do not want to fight.

I recently went into one of those deprivation chambers where you float in salt water in the pitch-black. You can’t see or hear anything for 75 minutes. Yes, you heard me right … 75 MINUTES (also known as 4500 seconds when you are floating alone in the darkest room you will ever encounter). Funny enough, I totally recommend it. Besides all the health benefits (lower blood pressure, release of anxieties, decompression of joints, receiving your daily dose of potassium), you have a huge sense of accomplishment because you stayed in a pitch black room where sound doesn’t exist all by yourself for 75 minutes. Savage!

So let’s recap!

1)   I’m following my dream of publishing

2)   I want to encourage you to follow your dreams

3)   If I’m not blogging or writing the sequel to The Nature of Gods, I’m probably watching Gilmore Girls or finding another rabbit hole to fall down

4)   Join me on the adventure! Let me know what’s going on in your life!

Until next time, keep adventuring!

D.J. Torres

Leave a Reply

