Adventures

Is it just me or does it seem like people have lost their excitement to make New Years Resolutions? Maybe I am just surrounded by a bunch of pessimistic folks who see past resolution failures as reasons to not make new goals (or even reestablish past goals). But I know there are still believers out there! Come on, I know I am not the only one on the planet who vows to work out more, eat healthier, or drink more water when that glittery ball drops.

Personally, I love resolutions because I never want to stop striving to become the best version of myself. I will admit that I haven’t reached every goal that I have ever set, but I don’t allow these setbacks to prevent my forward progress.

Over the past few years, I have changed things up a bit. Whenever my birthday rolls around, that’s when my resolutions start. Why? Because it’s a fresh start . . . a new year, not to the world, but to me.

So, without further ado, here are my resolutions for my year:

1) Launch my book

Exciting? Yes! Scary? Yes! Let’s just say that I am terrifiedly excited.

2) Put out a new blog at least once a week

My plan is to blog about life: the ups, the downs, and all the meaty goodness in between. I love writing so I don’t see this is a huge mountain to scale.

3) Find peace within the anxiety

Ever since I was in a car accident, I have struggled with anxiety. And, frankly, it’s really crippled me. However, I need to cut off the chains that bind me. Easier said then done, right? Well this year, I am adventuring to find peace within the chaos. Stay tuned for updates.

4) Do at least 20 minutes of yoga 4 days a week

Baby steps, people, baby steps! I use to be so active, but the older I get, the less active I become. This changes now! Bring on the downward dog!

5) Add variety to life

I have noticed that life can easily become such a routine. Routines can be good because they provide structure, and they mostly feel good because they are comfortable and predictable, but this year, I want to get outside of my routine at least once a week. This can include coffee with a friend, a walk in a new location, or attending a fun event.

Listen, I totally get that some weeks I will fail. Some weeks I will be so on fire that I will run circles around my goals. Either way, I’m excited for this clean slate, as well as for the opportunity to grow to become a better version of myself! It may sound cliché, but the adventure can be just as good and rewarding as the destination.

Until next time, keep adventuring!

D.J. Torres

Leave a Reply

