Uncategorized

A Book Meant for Empowering Young Girls

My name is DJ and I have written a Middle Grade / Young YA novel for young girls called The Nature of Gods: The Awakening. That seems like such a simple sentence, but it’s taken me months to get there.

Let me explain . . . when you are publishing your book, you send out Advance Reader Copies to bloggers with the intention of gaining reviews. Why? Because reviews are the dominate currency in the publishing world.

At first I classified my book as a Young Adult book. But, the truth is, the YA Market is so vast that it almost doesn’t make sense. The YA market is considered reading materials for 13 – 18 year olds. Now, is a 13 year old going to enjoy the same thing as an 18 year old? Perhaps, but overall, that’s a tall order to fill.

I was told by many of these YA reviewers that my book fit best in the Middle Grade category. And I agreed! Then I reached out to Middle Grade reviewers and they told me that my book fit best in the YA category. This left me feeling like I had no category. Cue the time lapse of me wandering sadly through the desert.

Then someone wise uttered these words to me, “Why are you listening to people that aren’t your target audience? You wrote the book for young girls. Don’t let others tell you differently.”

Whoa! That’s so true! I wrote The Nature of Gods: The Awakening with the intention of empowering young girls to know their strength and own their individuality.

So I decided it is time for me to own my individuality.

I don’t need to perfectly fit into these predetermined standards of the publishing industry. This book is meant for young girls (10-14). So what if I straddle the threshold between Middle Grade and YA? Truly, I think a 11-year-old is going to have more in common with a 13-year-old than a 13-year-old is going to have in common with an 18-year-old. But that’s my humble opinion.

If you have a young daughter, niece, or grandchild, and you want them to grow up knowing their strength and value in a world that is sometimes fickle, this book is for them.

You can purchase it in paperbook or eBook format today!

And follow me here as I share my thoughts and experiences as I navigate this world while owning my brand of individuality.

Until next time, keep adventuring!

D.J. Torres

Leave a Reply

